Tags

, , , , ,

Line of flags in cemetery

It is hard for me to write about such a thing as this day.  My mind and heart both flood with deep waves of reactions and emotions.  So many people who are tremendously gifted and caring can say the perfect thing about today, Memorial Day, and what it truly means.  I am not in that league and will not try.  But say something I must, for there are too many feelings in my soul that need expressing.

To all the families and friends of those who have served and are no longer with us:

War is hell.

Service to others and for others is noble.

Grief, at least for today, is understood and shared.

Those who died in service to our country, buried here or in foreign soil, are also buried in our hearts, and shall not be forgotten.

A grateful nation says thank you to all our service men and women who have served, and are currently serving.  Peace to all.

